Doris Day and Sex?

Okay, I’m confused. I look at my stats for this blog and quite a few people seem to like my post, “Sex – Doris Day Style.”  It was one of those quick posts one night about watching “Pillow Talk,” one of my favorite movies.  Well, the words “sex” or “sexy” and “Doris” seems to come up in searches once in a while, thus leading to my post. 

Now, I’m thrilled to get readers, but how disappointed must they be to read my quickie post when they might be looking for something different? So, I had to find out what’s going on.

I did some research and there is some site that has a Sexy Doris (which I can’t find now).  I didn’t visit it, because it looked a little unsavory. There’s also a film directed by Doris Wishman called “The Sex Perils of Paulette” – another one I’m not visiting – wait, it was made in 1965, I’m checking it out…okay, looks slightly naughty.

Maybe some people are interested in Doris Day and sex…um…together.  It can happen. She was beautiful in her younger days, with a sweet and wholesome look. Her singing voice is great. I absolutely love her “Sentimental Journey” with the Les Brown band. I’ve bought several old albums that she released. I also admit that I’m a sucker for “Que Sera, Sera.”

She played all kinds of roles, but got typed for a while as the sweet, plucky woman who stands by her man.  It was “Pillow Talk” that changed all that. She was smart and, yes, sexy in her Jean Louis outfits. Of course, in movie-land, manly Rock Hudson was attracted to her. Yet, it wasn’t that she was reeking of sexuality it was that she was independent, intelligent, and was willing to laugh along with Rock’s faux “Rex Stetson” (Rock puts on a fake persona and name in order to get close to Doris). She wouldn’t laugh with Rock’s smarmy character and Rock knew it. 

Anyway, if you stumble upon this post looking for more Doris Day info, here’s some good links:

IMDB Page: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000013/

Wiki entry: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doris_Day

A nice site all about her: http://www.dorisday.net/index.html

Doris Day with Nick Adams in Pillow Talk

Here's Doris Day with Nick Adams in one of the highlights in "Pillow Talk."  This is a gorgeous Jean Louis gown that she's wearing.  The picture is black and white, but the film is in color (Dawn can watch it!) and Ms. Day looks gorgeous.

5 Responses to “Doris Day and Sex?”

  1. dawn Says:

    Hahahahahaha! 😉 I’ll have you know that I actually ordered Goodnight and Good luck and a few Cary Grant movies from netflix. So…there! Heh.

  2. veggiesyarnsandtails Says:

    “now I shout from the highest hill…” Calamity Jane I believe, My Secret Love, was the song. What a time that was for movies…. And I loved the clothes too.
    Any idea what Ms. Day is doing NOW?? Last I heard she was involved in the
    animal rights movement.

    Cheers and BFN, Geraldine 🙂

  3. dilettanteville Says:

    Well, it seems she received some kind of medal from President Bush a while back for her animal rights work. So, she’s still alive.

    And yes, that’s Calamity Jane and Secret Love. Calamity Jane is another fun one of hers.

  4. Pillow Talk – 50 Years Old « DilettanteVille Says:

    […] and Doris Day in their “sexual” hijinks. I’ve posted about the movie before here, here, and […]

  5. louis cunningham Says:

    I’m no longer positive the place you’re getting your info, however good
    topic. I needs to spend a while finding out more or working out more.
    Thanks for excellent info I was on the lookout for this info
    for my mission.


Leave a Reply

