I’m Not the Only One Nutty about Star Trek

So, I’m at work trying to get some things done and I make the mistake of checking out DailyKos. I scan the new diaries and I see this in the diary list:

What was your favorite Star Trek episode?

Let’s just say that I didn’t get much more done at work. With over 280 comments I’m guessing that I’m not the only Kos reader who is a Star Trek fan. Sure, there were some folks who posted comments about Star Trek: The Next Generation, but they were in the minority — it’s the Original Series, baby!

Commenter admiralh commented on his favorite:

The one where they lost their inhibitions

was “The Naked Time”.

“Amok Time” was the one where Spock had to respond to his Vulcan urge to mate, and nearly killed Kirk in the process.

OK. Let’s reword that.

Spock has to return to Vulcan to mate with his wife or he will die.

Get your minds out of the gutter.

 

Which brings me to this lovely youtube video. It really brings out the subtext of Kirk and Spock’s relationship. I never realized as I watched the show.

2 Responses to “I’m Not the Only One Nutty about Star Trek”

  1. dawn Says:

    It really starts to make me re-think the homo-socio/homo-erotic connection between Kirk and Spock. Hmmm.

  2. azmutt Says:

    That is just SO WRONG!!!! …. in SO many ways!!!!

    (of course, Kirk always did look a little girlie to me….hey, Tomcat, whose your daddy??)


Leave a Reply

