Making a Movie…Sort Of

I’m watching The Last Shot, a film about making a movie. Unfortunately for the aspiring screenwriter and director, played by Matthew Broderick, his movie is only a front set up by the FBI as part of a sting operation. It’s a fun but slight film, and based on a true story (aren’t all films nowadays?).

Alec Baldwin is the FBI agent who falls in love with the idea of making movies, Toni Collette is the rather strange leading lady, and Tony Shalhoub is the gangster and the one the FBI is after. Buck Henry plays the friend/agent of Broderick’s character, while Joan Cusack is a producer who shows Baldwin and the FBI how to act like a producer.  Their best scenes are on the deleted scenes section of the bonus features, but still have moments in the “undeleted” scenes.

I’m not sure how I would rate it if I reviewed it, but for a Friday night movie it hits the spot.  My question is if I should do a double feature.  I’ve got a Michael Powell film waiting for me: I Know Where I’m Going.  Hmm… it’s 9:22 pm, will I stay awake long enough? I’ve slept the last day and a half away with headaches/aches/crappy chest congestion.  I might just manage to make it through an old comedy. If so, expect another post.

Me and my exciting Friday night.

Leave a Reply

