Two-wheeling

Gas Prices

So, I go buy gas the other night, and as I had let the tank nudge close to empty I had a lot of gas to buy to fill it up.  I used the debit card, started pumping, and the gas pump stopped pumping at $50.  It stopped before my tank was full. My guess is that there’s a $50 limit with a card. Hmmm….you know, with gas prices going so high the gas stations may need to rethink that one.

What to do? Gas prices are high and heading higher.  My old truck isn’t great with gas mileage.  Starting tomorrow is Bike to Work Week here in Flagstaff.  See the connection?  Yep, I’m going to start riding a bike to work.

Well, maybe I’ll do it.  My goal tomorrow is to put the bike in the truck, drive to campus, park on south campus, pull theSpecialized Expedition Sport Women’s Bike bike out, and ride across to north campus. I have been assured that this counts as riding to work.  If that goes well, I’ll do it again Tuesday.  I need to drive Wednesday as I’m a presenter at a campus conference and my sweaty, flushed face just isn’t going to look too good.  Thursday? I may try to ride farther.

Now, I keep saying I’m going to do this, but the first twinge of pain I may change my mind. I also have to deal with the fact that Flagstaff is not a flat town – there’s tons of hills, and I’ll be riding up some of them.  The downhill part is fine, but that uphill stuff? Shudder.  The only kind of shape I’m in is bad. Hills will kick my ass.

I just hope that you won’t be reading any posts about me and my bike disasters.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress, and let’s hope that it’s good progress.

Leave a Reply

