Cobbling Away in Second Life

So, I’ve been using Natalia’s instructions on how to make shoes, and let’s just say that I’m still in a learning curve. I wasn’t happy with my first go at the Heeled Pump, so tried it again.  Here’s how it turned out:

Heeled Pumps Again

These came out better than my first try.  I used one of the textures and rotated and repeated the pattern to get a subtle dot effect.  By the way, notice the shape of the foot?  A post at the Mean Girl Guides to Second Life has a few words about how the feet, and don’t forget the ankles, appear in Second Life. Here’s another shot of the shoe from the side.  I couldn’t get the invisibility prim to work properly and struggled trying to fix it.  Sure enough, I find out the next day that some things weren’t working properly. Anyway, here’s the side view:

Heeled Pumps from the side

Yeah, a good chunk of the heel isn’t showing.  Sigh.

I decided to branch out and make a pair of shoes all on my own.  I wanted something with a heel and a bit of platform, but nothing tricky.  I came up with something like this (now don’t laugh):

Trying a Different Look in Shoes in Second Life

Here’s another creation that I’ll probably never wear, but it did get me playing with shapes:
My First Belt in Second Life

Yes, a black belt with silver buckle.  Hey, it’s a start!

By the way, I’ve taken classes in Second Life (as if I don’t have enough classwork in my real life).  Here’s a shot of several people taking a class at the Rockcliffe University.  I think this was the PRM 106 class (the blocks are part of the class materials we manipulate).  I’ve done eight of the building classes at Rockcliffe and have learned a lot. Now I just have to learn how to make things look nice!

Taking a Class in Second Life

I’ll have another post soon of some of my explorations.  Can you say Star Fleet Command?  Geek heaven, baby!

Leave a Reply

