There’s No Place Like Home

Well, it feels that way after my vacation to Disneyland. The hotel rooms were fine at the Disneyland Hotel, but it’s not the same as my dinky little place where I can put my feet up, plug my laptop in, and sit back to surf the web while watching TV.

Even better is that my “kids” aren’t locked up in a kennel. Spencer barked in a chiding tone when I picked he and Lulu up at the vet’s. Lulu is just thrilled to go outside and look for small defenseless creatures to kill while Spence lies at my feet waiting for Lulu to reappear just so he can chase her. Ah, home sweet home and the pitter-patter of little feet.

I had a blast at Disneyland, but I was ready to come home yesterday. My feet felt like hot pokers were being used to burn them. In other words, the damn walking around for four days really flared up the plantar fasciitis.  Still, it was nice to see Disneyland at Christmas time. Some of the rides get a Christmas theme and are decorated beautifully, especially It’s a Small World and the Haunted Mansion. Even Sleeping Beauty’s castle gets a Christmas theme with snow on the roofs and beautiful lights that come on at night.

My favorite part of Disneyland was taking my niece Jamie on Space Mountain. Her first time, she was worried, but this girl loooooves the fast and speedy rides and sure enough she loved Space Mountain. When we were joined by my niece Lisa and her two girls, Jamie talked Catherine (the other 9-year old) into going on all these fast rides. The girls both loved them.

All in all, we had a wonderful time at the Happiest Place on Earth. I like going on all the rides, but I’m just thrilled that the ride for today is the couch potato ride. It’s really my speed.

Leave a Reply

