Sisterhood – Tudor Style

Just got back from seeing The Other Boleyn Girl. It’s an historical soap opera, but I guess that’s the way it was back then. What else could you expect if your family expects you to be “extra nice” (wink, wink, nudge, nudge) to the King. Not that Eric Bana, as King Henry VIII, is a terrible king to have to be nice to. Unfortunately, both Mary and Anne Boleyn (Scarlett Johansson and Natalie Portman) find their relationship as sisters rather strained. Of course, Anne ends up Queen of England, but at an eventual cost. After all, King Henry VIII is well known for getting rid of his wives.

You know, I have had problems with my little sister (she never paid attention as I bossed her around), but I’m glad that in our family we never had to deal with the headsman’s blade. Not that we would have caught the eye of the King anyway.

Leave a comment