Losing Myself in My Kindle

Kindle image

I spent a late night on Tuesday following the primary outcomes. Yes, I was disappointed that Clinton made a bit of a comeback, as I’m at the point that I want the Democratic nominee to go after McCain instead of the two candidates going after each other.

Feeling rather burnt out last night I decided to finish a book last night. Jasper Fforde’s title, Lost in a Good Book, described my attitude perfectly — it was a pleasure to lose myself in something entertaining. Tuesday Next’s adventures make me laugh, and where else can you have Miss Havisham of Dicken’s Great Expectations speeding in a sports car in order to beat Alice in Wonderland’s Red Queen to a book sale?

Tonight I may head to bed early and read some more. I started a biography on George Washington and it’s pretty darn interesting. I’ve always found Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, and Ben Franklin much more fascinating historical characters, so I really bought the book to see if I could find a way to put Washington on my fascination list. He’s always seemed rather boring to me. Ha! What a fascinating history so far: massacres, stifled ambitions, tobacco farming, and an ongoing suspicion of being cheated by London businessmen have filled the pages so far, and somehow I’m liking good ol’ George.

And yes, the Kindle makes reading easier. Reading is a one-handed affair, which is nice when I’m also trying to eat at the same time. No longer do I have to hold the book in one hand and turn the page with the other. Now I just hold the Kindle and quickly push the Next Page button. By the way, if you just got a Kindle I recommend you do what I do to limit accidentally hitting buttons: fold back the front of the Kindle cover and place the elastic band to hold it in place (I learned this on the Kindle forum). Here’s a photo found on Flickr showing the cover folded back:

Kindle cover folded back

If you’re laying in bed on your right side you can slip your hand in between the cover and hold on with just a few fingers as the elastic holds your hand in place (photo example). Your thumb is in a the perfect position for pushing the Next Page button. If you’re on your left side, your hand fits around that same cover to the left of the Kindle. Your thumb can rest along the bottom cover clasp putting it into perfect position to….guess what? Yep, push the Next Page button. It’s the perfect lazy reader’s way to read a book.

3 Responses to “Losing Myself in My Kindle”

  1. Bilia Says:

    I agree with you. I am just put off with the way democratic party is going. I do not find a reason why candidates from the same party should go tiger fighting over white house.
    Hillary and Obama, should try to unite their party, not showing voters their hungry for power. Basically, republicans are watching democratic party kill each other. In the long run voters will lose interest in both Hillary and Obama.
    It happened before. The reason Americans picked Republicans over democrats in the past is the same Cat fighting within democratic party.

  2. dilettanteville Says:

    I know, Bilia, but I’m hoping that Kevin Drum is correct. Studies have been done about divisive primaries and it doesn’t seem to make much difference come the general election. Here’s the link:
    http://www.washingtonmonthly.com/archives/individual/2008_03/013267.php

  3. Aaron Crocco Says:

    I didn’t know you could fold the cover behind itself! I keep taking my Kindle out of the case when I read because I think it’s more comfortable. When I first saw the case, I didn’t think it could be bent backwards. I didn’t want to ruin it by doing this. I guess more people are doing this and I’ll have to give it a shot.

    I’m only on day four of Kindling and I love it. I only wish Readers’ Digest was longer.

    Thanks for commenting on my site as well!


Leave a Reply

