Dragons at 10 O’Clock

I’ve found a new book series that has me putting off the dusting and vacuuming (of course, anything can make me procrastinate when it comes to dusting and vacuuming). Naomi Novik’s books about a  world with dragons and Napoleon have me hooked. I started with His Majesty’s Dragon.

Imagine the British and the French at war. Sure, there’s the British Navy fighting to keep Napoleon from attacking England, but there’s also the Aerial Corps . . . consisting of dragons and their crews.  Think dogfights, but instead of  men flying airplanes their crafts are dragons — some of them acid spitting. It’s a fun read.

I just finished the second book in the series, Throne of Jade, which takes Captain Laurence and his dragon Temeraire to China. And now, here’s where the danger of owning a Kindle comes into play, I’ve just downloaded the third book, Black Powder War. This all comes from downloading a sample chapter from the first book on Friday night. I’m on my third book already! The Kindle makes it all too easy.

And yes, I will have dragons at 10 O’clock if I start reading now. But the books are so much fun. Who cares if I stay up late reading?

Leave a Reply

