A Nice Day

The spring winds died down today. This weekend they were going crazy. Yesterday I had to find a place to take Spencer out for a walk that wouldn’t knock us down. I gave it some thought and decided to up my carbon footprint and drove the dog out where the trail would be somewhat sheltered from the wind and there might be some water. I hit the Pumphouse Wash in Kachina Village.

I used to walk this all the time when I lived in Kachina. The last 10 years of drought had taken away the lovely spring creek-like environment, but this winter’s snows have brought back that gorgeous flow of water. Spencer loved it. So did I.

Spencer, a dog of very little brain, may not remember that the Pumphouse Wash was his first off-the-leash walk that I gave him. He’d been brought up by my Mom in Mesa and she had to give him up. I was the lucky beneficiary and ended up with a silly Corgi. Unlike my big dogs, Chewie and Han, Spencer was not used to the Flagstaff area. So, I took him out on a beautiful morning before work. I got the three dogs on the trail, took the leashes off of Chewie and Han, keeping the leash on Spencer for a bit. I worried about letting Spencer have the freedom to run off, but then it dawned on me — Spencer has a squat little body and would have a hard time outrunning me. The leash came off.

Spencer had an interesting time walking the trail. He enjoyed the heck out of it and loved smelling the northern Arizona smells. It was when we headed back and got close to my truck that my well-oiled walking routine hit a snag. Chewie and Han let me leash them again before getting near the truck. I was able to get them in the back of the truck (with a camper shell). Spencer? Nope, he didn’t want the leash at all, much less get back in my truck. It took 15 minutes of cajoling and cussing under my breath before he decided to give in.

Now we walk all the time and it is all old hat. Still, it was nice seeing all that water yesterday, plus walking among the pines. Today’s walk along the dirt road wasn’t half as nice. At least the wind died down today. It was a nice day.

Leave a Reply

