Enjoying Sunday Morning

I managed to wake up early and even get out of bed early, which always gives me a sense of accomplishment. Of course, it’s really due to the heat. Lounging in bed isn’t that comfortable when the temperatures rise above normal. It’s been in the high 80s the last week, and it does get warm inside.

So what’s a gal to do on a hot day? Why get up and get out. I finally made it to our local Farmers Market that happens every Sunday morning in Flagstaff. It starts in early June and continues until October. It’s happened for several years, but I’ve never gone before. Hey, getting up early is not my usual thing, much less get dressed and into town. Well, it’s much easier when I still have a few more days off (flexible work schedule, plus a vacation day) and this isn’t my last weekend day to relax.

I picked up a variety of items. I’m most excited about the rhubarb jam and the green zebra tomato I bought. I mentally know that there are all kinds of tomatoes that never make it to the grocery store, but seeing them in front of me had my jaw dropping. What the heck? All kinds of colors, sizes, and markings. The lovely woman manning the table answered my questions and she helped me pick out the green zebra. Now, I’m not a super tomato fan. I like them in sauces, salsas, and on sandwiches, but I don’t normally drool over a tomato. Yet, I’m excited by this one. May I not be disappointed.green zebra tomato

The rest of my morning should stay relaxed. I’ll sit here and think about how to fix the tomato, surf the web, putter around doing some cleaning, and enjoy the day.¬† Now that’s a nice Sunday morning.

Leave a Reply

