Dilly-Dallying

I just finished dinner (some halibut and sautéed mushrooms and zucchini). Now it’s the decision on what DVD to put in. I’ve got the second disc from the Planet Earth series or I could watch Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels. Both DVDs are from Netflix, and it would be good to see them this weekend, so I can return them during this month of an extra DVD (Netflix lost a court case, thus an extra DVD this month for free). I could put in the first of season 1 of Babylon 5, which a co-worker lent me. I loved that series. Yet nothing sounds that appealing.

I did go see Ghost Town today. As a fan of Ricky Gervais, I just wasn’t sure how he would come across in a Hollywood movie. Happily, I’m pleased that the movie didn’t suck, Ricky is funny and moving, and though his character’s romance with Tea Leoni’s character seems rather far-fetched, they managed to make me laugh often enough to give the movie a thumbs up.

Maybe I won’t watch anything tonight. I’m rather tired after waking up this morning at 4:00 AM and not making it back to sleep. I seem to be on a consistent six to seven hour sleep cycle lately. The problem is that if I go to bed at 10:00 PM that means I’m awake at 4:00 or 5:00.  Of course, if I go to bed early tonight that means I’m up again early tomorrow morning. I sleep well, I just can’t seem to get back to sleep once I wake up (damn bladder — stop waking me up!).

Due to waking up so early I did manage to get Spencer out for a walk nearby. We hit Sandys Canyon. It’s a lovely hike, with aspens, pines, and just a lovely descent into the canyon. We even met a Forest Service guy hiking with a new wooden trail sign to put up.

The weather has been beautiful. The days are in the low 70s and we still get some rain off and on. After so many years of drought this change in the weather is a delight.

Well, I’ve dilly-dallied enough. I still don’t know what DVD to put in. Maybe it’s time to read instead. Maybe I just sit here and knit while listening to music. That sounds nice. I’m knitting up the “Shape It” scarf from Sally Melville’s Knit Stitch book. I made one a few years ago and love it. This time I’m using a ribbon yarn with warm colors of brown, orange, violet, and red (really, it’s pretty). You can see a pic of how the scarf can look like at Knitting Weather’s blog, who writes up her experience with the scarf.

Okay, back to perusing my DVD collection or maybe pulling out the knitting or doing both! Who needs to make decisions anyway?

Leave a Reply

