Knit One…Video Too

I was talking to a co-worker about knitting. She mentions how nice an audio book is to listen to while knitting as you can visually pay attention to the knitting. I liked that idea, but I’m not a fan of audio books. I do think that I could like them if I stick to non-fiction, but fiction is meant to be read and not listened to. I’m much more a visual person than someone who picks things up aurally. Thus, listening to something that doesn’t need my total attention would work for me while knitting.

Well, I don’t have any audio books, but I did come up with something that works very nicely. Anyone watch the lectures at TED? Various speakers discussing a multitude of fascinating subjects. The lectures aren’t long, but for knitting they last enough time to get some knitting done. What’s even better, is that I can knit and watch the lecture. I don’t know how many other knitters have their laptop in lap and knitting in hand, but the angle of looking at the knitting leads directly to glancing at the computer screen. Perfect.

I’ve watched some good ones tonight. A friend had sent me the link to the lecture by Jonathan Haidt on the moral roots of liberals and conservatives. This animation of what’s going on in our cells kind of freaks you out. What I really enjoyed was Joshua Klein’s explanation of the intelligence of crows. Goodness, they are way smart!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Joshua Klein on the intelligence of c…“, posted with vodpod
Leave a Reply

