Rachel Getting Married Was… Interesting

I saw Rachel Getting Married today. I had heard some good things about the film. Unfortunately, I can’t recommend it enthusiastically. Sure, the performances were good. Ann Hathaway (The Princess Diaries) is wonderful as the out-of-rehab character returning home for her sister’s wedding. The script didn’t follow any trite or boring path. Some scenes had power. The problem was Jonathan Demme’s direction. Good god! Couldn’t he hold the camera still at all? Feelings of nausea overwhelmed any liking for the rest of the movie. The hand-held camera work just irritated the heck out of me.

So, go see it, but be prepared. Take your anti-nausea medicine beforehand.

2 Responses to “Rachel Getting Married Was… Interesting”

  1. abrandnewcolony Says:

    This distresses me! I was planning to go see the film, but I can’t stand a shakey camera.

  2. dilettanteville Says:

    Abrandnewcolony, I was looking forward to the movie and was disappointed by it. I blame most of it on the shaky camera. Maybe if you sat in the back of the theater it wouldn’t be as bad (I like to sit closer to the screen, so maybe the effect was magnified. There’s some good stuff in the film and I can recommend the performances, but you just have to be prepared for a possible headache.


Leave a Reply

