Snow Day! Really!

What could someone want more on a dark, cold, snowy morning than to hear over the radio that NAU is closed due to snow? Oh yes, no work today!

I have a cold and can stay in and enjoy the snow as I drink my hot tea. Does it get any better than this? Well, if I didn’t have to shovel anything it could be nice, but that’s a fact of life with more than eight inches of snow falling overnight and it continues to fall. Once upon a time eight inches was nothing — it took about 18 inches to freak people out. What can I say, global warming changes attitudes about weather.

My dog Spencer loves the snow, but doesn’t seem to want to plow through it. Hey, he’s a dog of very short legs. The first shoveling I worked on was the back deck and yard. He needs a path to go potty.

Path for Spencer in the Snow

Path for Spencer in the Snow

Next I had to shovel the front steps. I’ll have to shovel them again later today, as you can see more snow has fallen onto my hard work, but I find it best to do them early and not let the snow build up too much.

Shoveled snow on my front steps

Shoveled snow on my front steps

I’ve had some hot tea since. I’m feeling that really the only thing left to do today is to go back to bed. It’s calling me:

Dilettanteville's bed is calling her

Dilettanteville's bed is calling her

More photos below the fold. Two views from the backyard:

Snow on Trees - Backyard View

Snow on Trees - Backyard View

Another View of Snow from Backyard

Another View of Snow from Backyard

My truck awaits my snow removal. I’ll wait to do this one. I’ll also try to drive around my parking area in order to “plow” the snow. Doesn’t work great, but at least it doesn’t involve me shoveling.

Truck in the Snow

Truck in the Snow

My snow boots that I rarely wear. I bought them way back when we would get a couple of feet of snow on a regular basis. There’s nothing like snow boots and baggy sweats for shoveling snow.

Snow Boots

Snow Boots

Spencer started barking at the neighbor dogs and then has to bark at me. After all, I’m standing on the back deck and the neighbor dogs are close. Something must be done! Silly dog.

Spencer Warning Me about the Neighbor's Dogs

Spencer Warning Me about the Neighbor's Dogs

Leave a Reply

