Whoa Baby, Dilettante Has the Moves!

I sit here shocked. I did something I never thought I could do. It was a feat of strength and endurance and I did it. In my Crossfit Bootcamp class I pulled off 50 sit-ups, 50 push-ups, and 50 squats. Whoo hoo!

We were doing an age-adjusted physical performance test as a baseline for the semester. When I heard what we had to do I groaned. There was no way I could do it. At least I had to only do 50 of each, but the other students, who are young whippersnappers, had to more (subtract your age from 100 — that’s what you had to do). I helped a sweet young student named Katy, who managed to get through 81 of each exercise. My mouth dropped at how well she did the test. Now it was my turn.

I flew through the sit-ups and only began to feel them during the last 15. Then came the push-ups. I could modify it and keep my knees on the floor, but I expected that I’d get about 12 done and then fall apart. Unbelievably, I whipped about 25 off before needing a break. Then it was a slow and steady process of doing a few and taking breaks to finish them up. As I’d been working on squats  in my workouts  I thought I’d be able to get  through them and, yes, I did!

So when I get my time for completing them it was 9 minutes and 50 seconds. The teacher was near when I finished and he let me know that what I did was excellent — a sub ten-minute time for this is awesome.

My regular workout is based on the Crossfit warmup exercises, which took me the last several months to build up to. Push-ups and squats took some real work on my part. I found the Crossfit Ozone site incredibly helpful in working up to something more difficult.

A year ago this would have been impossible. Shoot, a year ago I would never have signed up for the PES class on campus. Now today I sit here with jellied arms and mushy legs feeling quite proud of myself.

Leave a Reply

