Sunday Snow and a Day to Cook

It snowed overnight and more snow is falling. There’s nothing better than a day like this to allow you to stay home and not do “anything,” and that’s exactly what I plan to do.

Of course, I did get up and putter in the kitchen. I keep exploring Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything” and it motivates me to try something new.  Later today I’m going to cook up a duck. Yes, a duck. Expensive, but it sounds wonderful. Last night I made some homemade hot wings. They came out good, but a little overdone. I’ll adjust accordingly next time, and there will definitely be a next time. Now that I’m eating meat again I’m making up for all the hot wings and barbecued ribs that I didn’t eat for almost 20 years. I just hate the thought of buying from restaurants that have meat and poultry that isn’t grass-fed. I want to buy organic and more natural meat if I’m going to eat this kind of stuff. I really am trying to eat real food, prepared  by my own hand. Hey, I’ve lost over 50 pounds doing this (I really should write about my health gains these last seven months).

I also puttered around and made some homemade candy following no real recipe. Yesterday I roasted up some macadamia nuts, then covered them in a coconut, butter, and cream mixture. Refrigerating these coconut nut balls overnight made them nice and firm. This morning I melted some dark chocolate bars, at a 70% and 80% chocolate levels, and mixed in some butter, coconut oil, and vanilla. I added a bit of stevia for a touch of sweetness, but not much. After dipping the coconut balls into the dark chocolate I have the most rich-tasting “Macadamia Joys” for desserts this week.

I worked out hard yesterday, trying to perfect my Burpees. Unfortunately, I’m far from perfect. I managed to do 20 in about a five-minute time frame. So, after working out yesterday, I don’t plan any hard workout for today… other than shoveling snow.

Hey, I love these lazy Sundays. Give me snow. Give me a working oven. And give me the joy of doing nothing more than I want to do.

Leave a Reply

