Feeling Strong…er…Stronger

Since I left work early I didn’t attend the Crossfit Bootcamp class tonight. Of course, NAU canceled classes due to snow so there was no class after all. So what would a dedicated, athletic type of gal do? Why sit around and watch a DVD, right?

Naaaah… I worked out. My warm-up included massive amounts of snow shoveling and then my usual warm-up (planks, push-ups, squats, dips, pull-ups, etc.). I wanted a Crossfit kind of workout that I could do at home and, luckily, today’s Crossfit workout is “Cindy” (they really like to name workouts with female names). The Cindy is the following:

Complete as many rounds in 20 minutes as you can of:
5 Pull-ups
10 Push-ups
15 Squats

With my new Iron Gym pull-up bar I could actually attempt some pull-ups. I’m no way able to do a real pull up, but I can work on it.  The push-ups are getting easier for me. I can only do a few full push-ups and must still keep my knees on the ground, but I could do a lot of those. The squats still need work, but I’m doing better with those too.

So, how many rounds did I do? I did 10 and a half rounds (didn’t get the last set of squats on round 11). Though I will admit, I’m not sure if I messed up the count because it seems impossible that I did that many rounds. Think of it: 55 wimpy pull-ups along with 110 push-ups, and 150 squats — in 20 minutes. That’s unreal.  And I did it. Yes, I amaze myself.

Here’s some other gals who are into Crossfit. I’m impressed with them:

  • Melissa Byers at Byers Gets Diesel. She seems to really get into the whole Crossfit lifestyle. Her travails at working on a good squat is fun to read.
  • Gayle at My Life in a Fat Suit. I stumbled upon her blog as a link in one of the Crossfit forum discussions. It’s amazing to see what a difference is happening in her life. She, like me, started big and has really gained some muscle. I love the videos she put together about working out at her local Crossfit affiliate. She really goes for the intensity during the workout. She’s such a role model:

I love how Gayle shows us at her first attempt at fitness, a walk in her neighborhood, and the change since Crossfit. Very inspiring.

One day I’ll go to the local Crossfit and learn how to do these activities. Right now, I’m finding the class I’m in is intense enough for me. I’m enjoying the heck out of it too and I can feel those muscles getting tighter, bigger, and stronger.

Leave a Reply

