Flickers

Feeling tired tonight. Did a CrossFit workout early today that has my butt aching. Lots of lunges will do that to you. Then I come home and decide to rearrange the furniture. My poor, poor legs.

Once I got the house clean, the furniture arranged, and my aching butt onto the couch, I’ve been watching Flickers. The Flagstaff library actually has the DVD of this old mini-series. this Made in 1980, this series stars Bob Hoskins and Frances de la Tour who form an unlikely partnership to make “flickers” — silent movies.

I first saw it when I lived in England in 1980. When it showed up in the States on Masterpiece Theater I watched it again (way before the wonderful world of DVDs). Hoskins’ Arnie Cole is a wonderful character, as is France de la Tour, the woman who looks down on Arnie and his lifestyle, but ends up loving and supporting him through the trials and tribulations of building a film studio.

It’s a great series. It certainly gets my mind off the aches and pains I’m feeling.

Leave a Reply

