It’s Not Okay 5K

Note: I thought I posted this last night. Only made a draft post instead. So much for getting the drama out there when I was really feeling it.

Tonight’s CrossFit workout was only one activity: a 10k run. Are they kidding me? I was barely handling the 800m runs as a warm-up for the main workouts, and now I’m supposed to run a 10k? Well, I was lucky. Tonight’s trainer allowed me to run only a 5k. Ha! My reaction is the same as to a 10k run. Me? Run a 5k?

Well, I sort of did it. I was the slowest, most lost (I missed one of the trails and ended up going cross country to find the trail again and on the way back ended up taking a wrong turn), most unable to keep up a run of all the Crossfitters tonight. It took me an hour to complete the run….er walk. Yeah, I stopped running often and walked as needed. Near the end I just walked the rest of the way.

I’m icing my knees now, hoping the run/walk didn’t trash them too badly. I’d like to say that I’m thrilled that I made it through the 5k, but I can’t. I was miserable through most of it, knowing that I sucked at the whole thing. I didn’t even care what time it took to complete it. Okay, a pat on my back for at least attempting it.

One nice thing about doing the run, at least I now know the path taken for runs. I won’t have to deal with that fear of “where am I and where did everyone else go?” Yeah, everyone got so far ahead of me that I lost them, thus losing the way to go. And can I just say that I knew that would happen? No positive thinking for me. Uh-uh. I know I’m slow.

2 Responses to “It’s Not Okay 5K”

  1. dawn Says:

    But you did it. And you should be proud of yourself for doing it.

    I hope your knees are better today.

  2. dilettanteville Says:

    My knees are kind of cranky but not as bad as expected. And for feeling proud? Yeah, I’m glad I did it, and I’ll certainly have something to measure by in future attempts, but I was a pissed off person trying not to be pissed off, which made me more pissed off — you know how that works, don’t you? Every smiling face and chipper comment just makes you want to snarl.


Leave a Reply

