The Ugly Truth – Why?

No, I’m not writing about why a movie like The Ugly Truth gets made. Romantic comedies always get made. Very few get made well. So, my question is ‘Why did I enjoy The Ugly Truth?”

It’s predictable and sometimes ridiculous, but, yeah, I did laugh during the film. I think it’s because of Gerard Butler and his awkward American accent. Then again, I do like Katherine Heigl. Somehow they made me turn off my brain and find the movie better than the bad I was expecting.

Maybe that’s why: The Ugly Truth rose above my very low expectations. I lowered the bar that much.

Leave a Reply

