Dang Dog and Damn Road Construction

The road I live on is going through major road construction. It’s an adventure every morning on what barriers I have to get through to get onto the main road from the dirt road that I park on. It hasn’t been pleasant. Shoot, it has sucked.

My mail does not get picked up or dropped off, as the mail carrier has no way to pull up to drop it off. All those ditches and ropes make for a hard time for a little mail vehicle (jeep? truck? cart?).

Even worse, is the lack of garbage pick up. The last two weeks we were ignored. Those big cans are full, especially as the downstairs renters have moved out. They put lots of garbage in those cans while cleaning up. Some bags didn’t get into the can as it they both were full. I called the garbage department and they’re going to try to get the garbage picked up on my stretch of the road (I imagine I’m not the only person dealing with this situation along Lake Mary road) either tomorrow  — the regular pick up day  — or make a special trip on Friday.

So how does my dog fit into this tale of woe? My kitchen garbage can is packed full. Because Spencer enjoys rooting around in the garbage I keep it under the kitchen sink with a bungee cord holding the doors shut. I have also had to tie up the other side kitchen cabinet doors, as that offers the long way around to the can. Yep, my cat and dog both have opened that and made it to the trash can.

They got into it today. They managed to open the tied up cabinet and sneak into the under-sink area. The bad news, besides the mess and need to clean it all up, is that some cooked chicken bones were in that can. Yikes. I normally empty those out within a day or so, but with no room in the outside cans I’ve waited.

I get to play the “watch Spencer like a hawk” the next few days to make sure the bones don’t mess up his innards. Dang dog.

Leave a Reply

