Let Me Just Sit Here Now

Finally made it to CrossFit tonight. I’d had a cold last week, so it’s been almost two weeks since I’ve been. What a workout, one that I would not have suggested for someone who had been phlegm and mucus-filled all last week.

The workout was “Angie” — a named workout of the day.

  • 100 pull-ups
  • 100 push-ups
  • 100 sit-ups
  • 100 squats

Oh god. I did it, but it wasn’t easy. My pull-ups were jumping pull-ups, my push-ups started as full-body push-ups, but that didn’t last long. I switched to knee push-ups after nine full ones. Getting to a 100 of these was the hardest.

100 sit-ups? Easy-peasy. If you told me two years ago that I would look at “100 sit-ups” on the board and think to myself, “That’ll be easy, I can really plow through those,” I would have thought you insane. Yet, that’s how I now feel about sit-ups.

The squats weren’t pleasant. I was really concentrating on form, so my knees wouldn’t be in pain later. It meant doing sets of five, and then 3, and then 2. After 60 at full depth, discretion over valor won out, and I switched to a box to squat down to for the last 40. Not at full depth, but I could ensure that my butt was back and my chest was up.

It took me 28:06 to get through it all. I’m feeling good now, but we’ll see how those muscles complain tomorrow and the next day. Right now? I’m just going to sit here.

Leave a Reply

