Tamales and Family

Spent the weekend in the Phoenix area. It was the first trip down there for my new dog, Duke. He traveled well, but, boy oh boy, he didn’t make friends and influence people when he found a mud puddle and then spent time on the couch. He also wasn’t too excited by my nephew’s attempt to keep petting him. Ah well.

The family birthday party was fun, as was our planned activity: making tamales. My sister-in-law, Mona, brought all the makings. She had cooked up the red chili with pork, plain masa, and the green corn masa for making the two types of tamales. We just had to clean the corn husks, spread the masa, add meat if making that type, then wrapping in paper. They were steamed for an hour, and they were so delicious. Great idea for a party.

Richard brought agility equipment to work with Sophie, his dog. I didn’t get a chance to try it all out with my dogs — hey, I was wrapping tamales! It looked fun.

I’m glad to be back home. It’s much more relaxing than being a guest at my sister’s. Sure, I’m comfortable at her place, but there’s something about the ability to walk around in nudie-bears without offending brothers-in-laws or nieces and nephews.

One Response to “Tamales and Family”

  1. Sandra Vasquez Says:

    Spread more masa using a Tamale Spreader.


Leave a Reply

