Ageless Spine

My back gave me quite a lot of problems this winter. Starting in December, my lower back complained every day. When chiropractor visits, stretches, and ibuprofen didn’t make my back happy it stopped complaining and took it up a level. It beat the crap out of me when it spasmed/seized up one morning.

Putting on socks, undies, pants took a half hour and hurt like hell. I finally broke down and went to my doctor, who is an osteopath. His first adjustment didn’t work, but the muscle relaxant took the edge off. My second adjustment was magical. I didn’t hurt when I left his office. Sure, the pain returned but at a very low level. It’s now gone. Yay, Dr. Croft!

With back issues fresh in my mind, I ordered Ageless Spine, Lasting Health by Kathleen Porter. The idea that how we carry ourselves and our misuse of our body posture causes problems appeals to me. I’ve been prone to joint and muscles issues all my life. Wouldn’t it be nice to find a way to prevent this?

I’ve only started the book, but I’m liking it so far. I’ve also read 8 Steps to a Pain-Free Back by Esther Gokhale. Her book got me rethinking how I position myself for sleeping, how I walk, sit, and bend. Yet, it is so hard to change, or at least be consistent with the changes in using my body. We’ll see if Kathleen Porter’s book helps me continue on this good posture path.

Leave a Reply

