Romantic Comedies of the 1930s

I'm reading a wonderful book about one of my favorite topics – movies from the 1930s. The Runaway Bride: Hollywood Romantic Comey of the 1930s covers the early days as Hollywood switched from the women weepers of the early '30s to the surprising succes of Frank Capra's "It Happened One Night" to the rise of actresses who can show smarts and sass. 

Even knowing a lot about the subject I've been surprised by information. Movies that I've taken for granted, like "It Happened One Night," are put into context and shown for the groundbreaking films that they are. 

The author, Elizabeth Kendall, gives us biographical and career information of important directors and stars, plus the impact different studios had on the different film genres.  The only problem I have with her book and writing style is that I can't put it down. I've stayed up way too late each night this week reading a chapter or two. I also now want to see the movies she's talking about. Many I've seen and want to see again, plus there's some I never got around to viewing.

It's a shame that so few romantic comedies of today come even close to the wit and charm of the films from the Depression era. Do you think we need another Depression to help the genre along? Never mind, then. I'll take the occasional romantic comedy starring Will Smith or George Clooney to help me get my fix.

One Response to “Romantic Comedies of the 1930s”

  1. veggiesyarnsandtails Says:

    Hi again…I love old movies too, they don’t make ’em
    like that anymore!!! I had the pleasure of seeing
    Claudette Colbert many years ago, at the Old Vic in
    Toronto. She was much older, but still beautiful and the
    play was superb. It was a great night to remember, thanks
    for bringing it to mind.

    My fav. old movie…Casablanca!
    Have a great day,
    Geraldine 🙂


Leave a comment